The Criminal Penalties of a DUI in Virginia

The Criminal Penalties of a DUI in Virginia

In every state of the United States of America, it’s illegal to drive under the influence of alcohol. However, the punishment for this crime changes depending on the state and circumstances. This article will look deeper at the penalties for a DUI in the state of Virginia.

What’s a DUI?

A DUI is a crime where someone drives under the influence of alcohol, which endangers both the driver and anyone near them. Alcohol impairs judgment and reflexes, both of which are vital for safe driving. That’s why driving while under the influence is illegal.

First Charges

The first time someone drives while intoxicated is likely a misdemeanor, which has some serious penalties. These include up to one year in jail, a fine between $250-$2,500, 12–36-month license suspension, probation, or mandatory classes. You may also need an FR44 Virginia form to regain your license after the DUI.

Second and Onward

If the crime is more serious, or the person in question is a repeat offender, the DUI is now a felony crime. The punishments are much more severe, from 90 days to 5 years in prison and the permanent removal of your driver’s license. This is on top of the regular punishments for a DUI in the state of Virginia.

Blood Alcohol Content

One major factor when it comes to classifying the crime is the blood alcohol level of the driver when caught. If the level is higher than .15, then the penalties increase significantly, even if it’s your first time. You may receive multiple extra days in jail because your blood alcohol content is so high that it puts people at an even greater risk.

DUIs are a serious matter, and driving while drunk can put so many people in danger that it constitutes increased punishments. That’s why you see such severe penalties for a DUI in Virginia and why so many states have just as impactful punishments for DUIs.