The Criminal Penalties of a DUI in Colorado

The Criminal Penalties of a DUI in Colorado

The punishments for a first DUI conviction in Colorado vary depending on a variety of variables. The number of past DUI convictions the motorist has is one of the key variables. Read on to find out some of the most common criminal penalties of a DUI in Colorado.

License Revocation

A motorist consents to a chemical test under Colorado’s implied consent legislation if there is reasonable suspicion that they are operating an automobile in breach of the state’s DUI laws. Any motorist whose BAC is .08 percent or more or who refuses to submit to a chemical test will have their license revoked by the Colorado DMV. After the revocation term of one month ends, the offender may apply for a restricted license. Drivers who don’t submit to a chemical test on their first offense risk having their license suspended for a year and qualify for a provisional license after two months.

Ignition Interlock Device

One of the most common criminal penalties of a DUI in Colorado is the installation of an ignition interlock device. All first-time offenders in Colorado must use ignition interlock devices (IIDs), and having a restricted license necessitates them as well. All registered vehicles in the offender’s name must have the IID installed for a minimum of eight months if their BAC was .08 percent or above. However, if there have been no infractions for four months, the offender qualifies for a permit without the IID restriction. After being reinstated, drivers who had a BAC of .15 percent or above or who had declined a test must use an IID for two years.


DUI convictions incur a minimum 5-day prison penalty and a maximum one-year sentence. If the offender takes an alcohol and drug examination and completes the rehab clinic program, the necessary 5 days in jail may be suspended. However, the minimum jail term is 10 days if the accused’s BAC was .20 percent or above. In addition, a first DUI conviction carries a fine of between $600 and $1,000 plus court fees and surcharges.

When you incur a criminal penalty DUI, you will often be forced to take out SR22 high-risk insurance. If you need a low-cost SR22 insurance quote for Colorado, be sure to reach out to Serenity Group today.