States with the Strictest Driving Laws
No matter where you cruise, it’s important to stay alert and aware of the driving laws. Laws vary from state to state, however, which means some punishments will be harsher than others. Here is a breakdown of the states with the strictest driving laws.
Generally considered to be the state with the strictest driving laws, Delaware certainly cracks down on any law-breaking drivers. They’re quite strict about enforcing speed limits, but reckless driving charges are where things get serious. If you’re a first-time offender, you’ll receive a fine between $100 to $300, or you may face between 10 to 30 days in jail—some may even face both. For those caught driving recklessly again, fines will increase between $300 to $1,000, with subsequent jail times between 30 and 60 days.
California has multiple strict driving laws, but they really crack down on DUIs. Fines up to $2,000, 48 hours in jail, or mandatory education programs are all possible consequences for any drivers found guilty of driving under the influence on their first offense. Although the blood alcohol limit is 0.08%, if the police can prove your driving was impaired by any alcohol consumption, you can still be charged if you’re under that limit.
Speeding was quite an issue in Georgia, and that’s why the Super Speeder ticket came into existence in 2010. This ticket specifies that if you go over a certain speed limit on either a two-lane road or highway, you’ll pay any fines or fees, as well as a flat $200 fee on top of that. Make sure you pay that fee in a timely manner; if you wait more than 120 days, your license will be suspended.
Driving in Maine may be scenic, but don’t let those sights distract you. Maine cracks down on drivers found driving under the influence, driving recklessly, or drivers that fail to use their seatbelt properly. Maine also has the Zero Tolerance Law; if you’re under the age of 21 and found driving with any alcohol in your body, your license is revoked for a year.
Oregon cracks down on reckless driving in a major way, and their driving laws reflect that. They tout the country’s highest maximum fine for first-time offenders, which clocks in at a maximum of $6,250. On top of the fine, those convicted also face the possibility of one year in jail and five years of probation.
In New York State alone, from 2011 to 2016, tickets given for texting while driving increased by 918%. Distracted driving, reckless driving, and driving under the influence have serious consequences; if you find yourself without a license as a result of these offenses, we’re here to help. With our SR22 online services, those in need of an SR22 can start down the road toward recovering their driving record.