How Long Do You Need FR-44 Insurance in Florida?
There are many types of punishments for serious driving infractions across the country, as each state has its own laws and regulations. However, only two states utilize the special FR-44 for people who infringe on serious driving laws. Here’s what you need to know about Florida’s version of the FR-44, such as how long it lasts and how it affects you.
What Is the FR-44?
The FR-44 is a form that someone needs to get their license back after the state revokes it because of a serious driving crime. Common causes for the form are a DUI or driving without insurance, and you can only get your license back once you have the form. However, the only way to get it is by fulfilling certain insurance requirements.
How Does It Impact You?
The major effect of the FR-44 is how it impacts your insurance requirements, as each state has its own regulations on what you must have for insurance. However, the only way to get the FR-44 and your license is by meeting a higher standard of insurance than the state requirement. To get an FR-44 in Florida, you need $100,000 per person, $300,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $50,000 for property damage. These coverage costs are multiple times higher than the normal state requirement. This means you’ll pay much more in insurance than you would normally, which you can offset by finding good FR-44 insurance companies in Florida.
How Long Does It Last?
While the exact time can change depending on the court’s decision, the normal length of time you should have the FR-44 is three years. Once those years are up, you won’t need to carry the form and can go back to lower insurance coverage. Hopefully, your insurance premiums will decrease at the same time.
This is the basic information you need to know if you’re ever at risk of receiving an FR-44. However, it’s best to avoid the incidents in the first place by driving legally and safely. This way, you’ll be much safer and won’t have problems with the law later.