What is SR22 Insurance
After an OWI (or DUI) you will need SR22 insurance in Louisiana. The state mandates that your insurance company file an SR22 certificate with the DMV. Per state law in Louisiana, SR22 insurance verifies that you have fulfilled Louisiana’s minimum liability requirements for a period of three years.
If you fail to pay your insurance premium it will result in an invalid SR22 and a suspended license. Find tips and tools to navigate your SR22 in our DUI Survival Guide.
Easily Reinstate Your License
We have created the perfect tool to find affordable SR22 insurance in Louisiana. In less than five minutes you can compare rates between the top insurance companies in the country, in real time! Get a quote today to find the cheapest SR22 insurance. Please call one of our SR22 Specialist with any questions or concerns about your policy.
SR22 Insurance Cost
The cost of SR22 insurance is determined by your state’s minimum liability requirements. The SR22 insurance minimum in Louisiana is $15,000 for injury to one person, $30,000 for injury to two or more people, and $25,000 for property damage.
Louisiana OWI Laws & Penalties
It is unlawful for a person to drive in Louisiana with a BAC of .08 or higher. Penalties for a OWI in Louisiana may include jail time, fines, and license suspension.
The above information is intended as informational and does not constitute legal or insurance advice. Insurance requirements in Louisiana are subject to change.