DUI Glossary

DUI Resources

DUI Survival Guide:If you were arrested for driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated, our DUI Survival Guide will be a crucial resources in figuring out what’s next. 

DUI Sentencing Terms

Aggravating factors: Things done at the time of your arrest that may make your sentence more severe (such as the presence of minors or refusal to submit to breath analyzer tests).

Mitigating factors: Circumstances that may reduce your sentence (such as character references, military service, and willingness to complete alcohol education classes and/or treatment). 

BAC: Blood Alcohol Concentration. All 50 states have now set .08% BAC as the legal limit for driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI).

DUI Penalties

Ignition interlocks: A mechanism similar to a breathalyzer that is installed on your dashboard. In order to start and drive your car, you must breathe into it. If any alcohol is detected on your breath, your car will not start or quit running. Average cost: $200 installation fee; $80/ month maintenance. 

Alcohol education program: You will most likely be required to enroll in an alcohol education program within 21 days of your first court hearing. Average Cost: $250 for a 12 hour class.

SR22: A document for high risk drivers provided by your insurance company and filed with the DMV. An SR22 verifies that you will meet your state’s minimum liability requirements for the next three years. It is required in 40 states to reinstate your license after a DUI. 

FR44: A document similar to an SR22 verifying you will carry double your state’s minimum liability requirements for the next three years. Required in Florida and Virginia.