No Proof of Insurance Causes DL Suspension in FL
Florida state law requires the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to automatically suspend the driver’s license and the registration of a Florida driver who is convicted of operating a motor vehicle without proof of insurance.
Currently, when a driver is cited for failure to maintain proof of insurance, the driver may elect to enter a no-contest plea and present proof of insurance to the clerk of the court. However, if the driver pays the fine, and no proof of insurance is presented, then a conviction is added to the driver’s record.
The Department of Highway Safety has the authority to suspend the driver’s license and registration upon receipt of a conviction for this violation. This process will identify potentially uninsured drivers and enable the Department to enforce mandatory Personal Injury Protection/Property Damage Liability (PIP/PDL) insurance requirements in order to protect the driving public.
As of February, 2011 any convictions or paid fines for proof on no insurance will cause the driver’s license to be suspended and the suspension will be mailed to the driver. This suspension will be effective 5 days from the date of the notice. In order to reinstate their driver’s license, the customer must show proof of insurance for the date of the offense to the Department, or present proof of a non-cancellable SR-22 for PIP/PDL insurance which will need to be maintained for a period of 2 years from the date of suspension, and either pay a fee of $150, $250 or $500 if the SR-22 was purchased after the date of suspension.
Are you getting car insurance for the first time or have an insurance requirement for SR-22 filing? Serenity Insurance can help – we offer affordable auto insurance in 47 states for both preferred and high risk drivers. Call us toll free today at 1-800-774-0520 or use our car insurance quote form.