A law revision is expected to take effect August 8, 2012 that repeals and reenacts Colorado Revised Statute (C.R.S.) § 42-2-132.5. Previously, the law required that any motorist applying for early reinstatement after a DUI-based conviction or revocation carry an SR22 insurance policy for the greater of three years or the period of time the motorist’s license was restricted. Under the revised law however, DUI, DUI per se, and DWAI first- time offenders are excused from the three-year SR-22 requirement so long as no accident occurred.
The revised exception states that anyone subject to the provisions of the revised law must only carry SR-22 for “the period of time the person’s license is restricted.” For a first-offense DUI, DUI per se, or DWAI, the period of restriction could be anywhere from 4 months to 3 years.
This is good news for drivers whose licenses were revoked for a first offense DUI in Colorado where no accident occurred. Previously, the requirement for reinstating your driver’s license early after a DUI conviction or DMV revocation for a first offense was three years even when no accident occurred. This provides some savings for those required to carry an SR22 insurance policy.
Are you looking for SR22 insurance in Colorado? Contact Serenity Insurance today to get an insurance quote. Serenity Insurance specializes in SR-22 insurance for DUI/DWAI offenders. Let us help you today! Call 1-800-774-0520 or click here to get your quote for Colorado SR-22 Insurance now.