Cheap SR22 Insurance in TN
TN SR22 Requirements
It is illegal in the State of Tennessee to drive a vehicle if the driver has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher. There are stricter laws for drivers of commercial vehicles (.04) and a .02 for drivers under the age of 21. The Tennessee DUI law also prohibits driving under the influence of other intoxicants such as inhalants, marijuana, amphetamines and other intoxicants.
Tennessee has an implied consent law which means that you have given your consent to be tested to determine the alcohol or drug content of your blood if stopped by an officer and he suspects that you are under the influence. First refusal to submit to the test will result in your driver’s license being revoked for a period of 1 year.
The penalties for a first time Tennessee DUI offense are as follows:
- Fine of $350 to $1,500
- Jail for a minimum of 48 hours or up to 11 months
- License suspension for 1 year
- An ignition interlock device is required if:
- The BAC is above .15
- A passenger under the age of 18 is in the vehicle
- Implied Consent/Test is refused
Other possible penalties include:
- Litter pick-up for three 8-hour shifts
- Penalties for child endangerment if the passenger is under 18
- Attend an Alcohol Safety DUI School Program
The SR-22 is a proof of financial responsibility and can be required for a total of 5 years from the date of your suspension. If the SR22 is filed for a total of 3 years within the 5-year period, the DOS can cancel the SR22 provided it is not required for any other suspension. The SR22 is required for a period of 3 years for a drunk driving conviction. If the SR22 is cancelled before the required time, your driving privileges will be suspended.
The minimum requirement liability insurance coverage for the State of Tennessee is as follows:
- $25,000 for Bodily Injury Liability per person injured in an accident
- $50,000 for Bodily Injury Liability for all bodily injuries in one accident
- $15,000 for Property Damage Liability in one accident
The information contained in the above article is intended as informational and does not constitute legal or insurance advice. Insurance requirements in the state of Tennessee are subject to change. Visit the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance at http://www.tn.gov/commerce/index.shtml or the Tennessee Department of Revenue/Vehicles at http://tennessee.gov/revenue/vehicle/ for current information.
Have you had a DUI, DWI, or other driving offense that required form SR 22 insurance filing or are you getting car insurance for the first time? Serenity Insurance can help – we offer car insurance in 47 states for both preferred and high risk drivers. Call us toll free today at 1-800-774-0520 or use our car insurance quote form.