Cheap Car Insurance in IN
IN Insurance Requirements
Insurance rates vary not only by the vehicle, the driver’s information and the violations but also by the type of insurance company you decide to talk with. There are preferred companies that offer several different tiers of coverage and services, standard companies which offer less tiers and services and then non-standard who offer even less services. Just because the non-standard companies don’t offer the same coverage and tiers as these other companies doesn’t mean that you can’t get the level of coverage and service that you need.
There are several non-standard insurance companies doing business in Indiana. If you only need the state required minimum coverage for your needs, then there’s no reason not to purchase from a non-standard company. The State of Indiana has a financial responsibility law that requires all vehicle drivers to be able to pay for all costs incurred as a result of an at fault accident. The least expensive way to show financial responsibility is to purchase the minimum liability insurance coverage on their vehicle. The minimum required liability insurance coverage is as follows:
- $25,000 for Bodily Injury Liability per injured person
- $50,000 for Bodily Injury Liability per accident
- $10,000 for Property Damage Liability for damage to property
These limits are the state minimum requirements but drivers may also choose higher limits and additional coverage, such as physical damage for their vehicle, medical coverage and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Having additional coverage could protect you and your assets in the event of a serious accident.
In addition the insurance liability policy must include coverage for uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage unless the policyholder rejects this coverage in writing. The minimum limits for uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is:
- Uninsured Motorists Bodily Injury of $25,000/$50,000
- Uninsured Motorists Property Damage Liability of $10,000
- Underinsured Motorists Bodily Injury of $50,000 if UM is selected
If you are caught driving without insurance in Indiana by law enforcement, you driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days and the first offense carries a reinstatement fine of $150. If you are convicted of violating Indiana car insurance laws twice in the same year you will lose your driver’s license for 1 year.
The State of Indiana gives the courts the authority to order the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) to suspend a driver’s license when certain traffic violations are committed. Once the driver’s license has been suspended, the driver must submit proof of having at least the state minimum liability auto insurance policy before they can be reinstated. The type of filing required by the BMV depends on the suspension given to the driver. The two types of filings are the SR22 and the SR50.
The information contained in the above article is intended as informational and does not constitute legal or insurance advice. Insurance requirements in the state of Indiana are subject to change. Visit the Georgia Department of Insurance at http://www.in.gov/idoi/ for current information.
Are you getting car insurance for the first time or have an insurance requirement for SR-22 filing? Serenity Insurance can help – we offer auto insurance in 47 states for both preferred and high risk drivers. Call us toll free today at 1-800-774-0520 or use our car insurance quote form.