OR Insurance Requirements
The State of Oregon has a mandatory insurance law which requires all drivers to insure their vehicles. The minimum required liability insurance coverage is as follows:
- $25,000 for Bodily Injury Liability per person
- $50,000 for Bodily Injury Liability for bodily injury to others
- $25,000 for Property Damage Liability for damage to property of others
- $15,000 for Personal Injury Protection
- $25,000 for Uninsured Motorist Coverage per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 for Uninsured Motorist Coverage per crash for bodily injury
These limits are the state minimum requirements but drivers may also choose higher limits and additional coverage, such as physical damage for their vehicle and coverage for uninsured motorist property damage liability. Having additional coverage could protect you and your assets in the event of a serious accident.
You are required to certify that you have at least the minimum insurance each time you register a motor vehicle in the state of Oregon.
If you drive without liability insurance you can be fined, your driver’s license can be suspended and your vehicle can be towed. If you drive a vehicle that is uninsured and are involved in an accident, your driving privileges will be suspended for one year. If you are convicted of driving uninsured, a judge can require you to file proof of financial responsibility with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) using the SR-22 form which is required for 3 years. If you do not file the SR-22, your driver’s license will remain suspended.
The DMV randomly selects vehicles each month and asks the owners of the vehicles to provide the name of their insurance company and their policy number. The DMV will then verify the reported coverage with the insurance company and if you do not have the required insurance, you will be subject to proving your compliance with the Oregon financial responsibility law for 3 years. If you do not respond to the request for proof of coverage, or do not have the minimum coverage, your driving privilege will be suspended.
OR SR22 Requirements
The state of Oregon prohibits a driver from operating a vehicle if the driver has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher. There are stricter laws for drivers of commercial vehicles (.04) and a .02 or a Zero Tolerance limit for drivers under the age of 21. The Oregon DUI law also prohibits driving under the influence of other intoxicants such as inhalants, marijuana, cocaine and many other drugs.
The list of penalties for a first time Oregon DUI offense is as follows:
- DUI Diversion Program possible
- Sentenced to jail for a minimum of 48 hours or up to 1 year, or
- Community service of 80 hours
- A fine of $1,000 minimum
- $2,000 fine is the BAC is .15 or higher
- $10,000 fine possible if a child under 18 is in the vehicle
- Other DUI fines at a minimum of $300
- License suspended for 1 year
- Ignition interlock device required for 1 year after the suspension
- The participation in the Victim-Impact Panel Program
- Alcohol evaluation and treatment may be ordered
Subsequent DUI convictions cause the penalties to increase.
Oregon state law requires an SR-22 to be filed with the Department of Motor Vehicles for the following reasons:
- Failure to provide proof of liability insurance to the DMV
- If you’ve been involved in an uninsured accident
- If you’ve been convicted of driving without insurance
- If you were convicted of a DUI and are reinstating your driver’s license
- If you are applying for a hardship or probationary permit
There could be other reasons why a judge or the Department of Motor Vehicles might require you to file an SR-22.
The SR 22 is a certificate that gets filed with the DMV by your insurance company that shows your future financial responsibility and proof that the liability insurance meets the minimum required limits of coverage. Oregon law requires the SR 22 to be in effect for 3 years from the end of the license suspension or for 3 years and 33 days from the date of the driving without insurance conviction.
The DMV monitors the SR-22 compliance of your SR-22 requirement. If the insurance, and therefore the SR-22, lapses for any reason, the insurance company will contact the DMV and your driver’s license will be suspended.
The information contained in the above article is intended as informational and does not constitute legal or insurance advice. Insurance requirements in the state of Oregon are subject to change. Visit the Oregon Insurance Division at http://insurance.oregon.gov/ or the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles at http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/driverid/insurance.shtml for current information.
Have you had a DUI or other driving offense that required form SR22 insurance filing or are you getting car insurance for the first time? Serenity Insurance can help – we offer car insurance in 47 states for both preferred and high risk drivers. Call us toll free today at 1-800-774-0520 or use our car insurance quote form.