Cheap SR22 Insurance in ME
ME SR22 Requirements
Maine BMV can require proof of financial responsibility in the form of SR22 insurance for an accumulation of violations, reckless driving, driving under the influence which is called an OUI (Operating Under the Influence) in the state of Maine, for refusal to test, for at fault accidents or driving without insurance.
In the state of Maine it is illegal to drive a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher. There are lower limits for drivers of commercial vehicles and also for drivers under the age of 21. Drivers under the age of 21 who have been found operating a motor vehicle with any alcohol in their system at all will have their driver’s license suspended for at least 1 year. Maine has zero tolerance for minors that drink and drive. Penalties for a first time OUI in Maine are as follows:
- 30 days in jail
- License suspension for 90 days
- A fine of $500
Subsequent OUI convictions cause the penalties to increase.
Maine has an implied consent law which means that you have given your consent to be tested to determine the alcohol or drug content of your blood, breath or urine if stopped by an officer and he suspects that you are driving under the influence. Refusing to submit to the test will result in harsher penalties than a positive chemical test. Refusing to test brings on “aggravated” factors to the OUI that result in additional jail time, fines and a longer license suspension.
The minimum required liability insurance coverage is as follows:
- $50,000 for Bodily Injury Liability of any one person
- $100,000 for Bodily Injury Liability for two or more persons
- $25,000 for Property Damage Liability
- $50,000 for Uninsured Motorist Coverage per person
- $100,000 for Uninsured Motorist coverage per accident
- $2,000 for Medical Payments Coverage
Drivers must carry proof of insurance and present it to any law enforcement officer if they stop you for a traffic violation or at the time of an accident in which damage or injury occurs. A valid insurance ID card must be presented as proof of financial responsibility. If you cannot prove that you have insurance coverage, the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) will suspend your driver’s license until proof of insurance is provided.
The information contained in the above article is intended as informational and does not constitute legal or insurance advice. Insurance requirements in the state of Maine are subject to change. Visit the Maine Bureau of Insurance at http://www.maine.gov/pfr/insurance/
or the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles at http://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/
for current information.
Have you had a DUI, DWI, or other driving offense that required form SR 22 insurance filing or are you getting car insurance for the first time? Serenity Insurance can help – we offer car insurance in 47 states for both preferred and high risk drivers. Call us toll free today at 1-800-774-0520 or use our car insurance quote