Cheap Car Insurance in ME
ME Insurance Requirements
Auto insurance rates are different based on the make, model and year of the vehicle, the information about the driver and his driving history, and also by the type of insurance you talk to about the policy. There are different types of insurance companies. Preferred companies offer several different tiers of coverage and services, standard companies offer less tiers and services and then non-standard companies offer even less tiers. Just because the non-standard don’t offer the same coverage and tiers as these other companies doesn’t mean that you can’t get the level of coverage and service that you need.
There are several non-standard insurance companies doing business in Maine. If you only need the state required minimum liability coverage for your needs, then there’s no reason not to purchase from a non-standard company. Maine state law requires all vehicle owners and operators to carry liability insurance, uninsured motorist coverage and medical payments coverage. You cannot register your vehicle in Maine without proof that you have the minimum required insurance. The minimum required liability insurance coverage is as follows:
- $50,000 for Bodily Injury Liability of any one person
- $100,000 for Bodily Injury Liability for two or more persons
- $25,000 for Property Damage Liability
- $50,000 for Uninsured Motorist Coverage per person
- $100,000 for Uninsured Motorist coverage per accident
- $2,000 for Medical Payments Coverage
These limits are the state minimum requirements but drivers may also choose higher limits and additional coverage, such as physical damage coverage for their vehicle. Having additional coverage could protect you and your assets in the event of a serious accident.
Drivers must carry proof of insurance and present it to any law enforcement officer if they stop you for a traffic violation or at the time of an accident in which damage or injury occurs. A valid insurance ID card must be presented as proof of financial responsibility. If you cannot prove that you have insurance coverage, the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) will suspend your driver’s license until proof of insurance is provided.
The information contained in the above article is intended as informational and does not constitute legal or insurance advice. Insurance requirements in the state of Maine are subject to change. Visit the Maine Bureau of Insurance at http://www.maine.gov/pfr/insurance/
for current information.
Are you getting car insurance for the first time or have an insurance requirement for SR-22 filing? Serenity Insurance can help – we offer affordable auto insurance in 47 states for both preferred and high risk drivers. Call us toll free today at 1-800-774-0520 or use our car insurance quote