Cheap Car Insurance in CA
CA Insurance Requirements
Car insurance rates are calculated by using information about the driver, the driver’s violations, the year and make of the vehicle and also by the type of insurance company the policy is purchased from. Preferred companies offer several levels of coverage and services, standard companies will offer less options and non-standard companies will have less coverage options and payment tiers than either preferred or standard.
In California there are several non-standard companies that write auto insurance policies. If you only require liability coverage as mandated by the state then you could find a reasonably priced insurance policy from a non-standard company to fit your needs. Vehicles driven on California highways and roads must have liability insurance that will provide financial responsibility for any damage or injury caused by an accident regardless of fault.
Insurance companies who write policies in the State of California are required by the California Vehicle Code to electronically report insurance information for vehicles to the state Department of Motor Vehicles. Vehicles covered by commercial or business insurance policies are exempt.
This electronic reporting allows the DMV to monitor insurance compliance and to take appropriate actions as required by law, including suspension of vehicle registration or drivers licenses. The courts and law enforcement have electronic access to the insurance status on DMV records.
Proof of insurance must be carried in the vehicle at all times and provided in the following situations:
- When requested by a law enforcement officer
- When the vehicle registration is being renewed
- Whenever the vehicle is involved in an accident
The DMV can also request additional insurance information such as:
- A declaration Page or ID card from your insurance company
- California Proof of Insurance Certificate (SR-22)
The minimum insurance coverage for private passenger vehicles per the California Insurance Code is as follows:
- $15,000 for bodily injury liability to one person
- $30,000 for bodily injury liability to more than one person
- $5,000 for property damage liability
The information contained in the above article is intended as informational and does not constitute legal or insurance advice. Insurance requirements in California are subject to change. Visit California Department of Motor Vehicles for current information.
Are you getting car insurance for the first time or have an insurance requirement for SR-22 filing? Serenity Insurance can help – we offer affordable auto insurance in 47 states for both preferred and high risk drivers. Call us toll free today at 1-800-774-0520 or use our car insurance quote form.