Español Need Help? Click here to chat.

Click to get started on
your insurance quote.

Get a Quote

call me
800-774-0520
For SR-22 Insurance and
Cheap Car Insurance Rates

New Minimum Coverage Requirements in Ohio

It is illegal to drive any motor vehicle in Ohio without insurance or other proof of financial responsibility. To comply with Ohio’s financial responsibility requirements, individuals must maintain insurance or get a bond.  If your driver’s license has been suspended and you are required to file an SR-22 in OH, a new law could make it more expensive to get your license back. An SR-22 shows the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) that you have at least the state minimum coverage for liability insurance. Most insurance companies file the SR22 with the BMV electronically. The required minimum for Bodily Injury Liability Coverage in Ohio is currently $12,500 per person injured in any one accident and $25,000 for all persons injured in any one accident.  The required minimum for Property Damage Liability Coverage is $7,500 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident. By December 22, 2013, new law raises the minimum limits to $25,000 per person injured in any one accident with a $50,000.00 maximum for all persons injured in any one accident. The minimum Property Damage Coverage will be $25,000 for property of others.  The law requires companies to begin issuing policies with these new limits for new and renewal business no later than December 22, 2013. Failure to keep your car insurance policy active when you have an SR-22 is a serious problem. If your policy has a lapse in coverage due to failure to make the payment, or for any other reason, will cause the SR-22 filing period to start over from the beginning. This could mean a minimum of another three years having the SR-22 filed with your insurance policy.   Source: http://www.insurance.ohio.gov

What Do I Do After I Get a DUI?

Trying to figure out what to do after a DUI? Check out our site and learn more about sr22 insurance!

5 Costliest Traffic Violations for Car Insurance

Getting a traffic ticket will cost you money, but how much will depend on the violation. The worse the violation, the more your car insurance costs may rise because it’s more likely you’ll be considered a bigger risk to the insurer.  Courts will often require drivers with these violations to obtain SR-22 insurance to remove their license from suspension.  It’s difficult to say how much insurance premiums will rise per violation because different insurance companies have different methods of calculating premium. With the help of experts, including J. Robert Hunter, insurance director for the Washington, D.C.-based Consumer Federation of America, we now identify what are considered the five worst traffic violations for your insurance bills. 1. Driving While Impaired / Under the Influence Estimated premium increase: 25 percent Call it DWI or DUI, a drunken driving violation will hike your insurance costs more than any other, likely as much as 25 percent, says Hunter, a former Texas insurance commissioner. Your insurance company might give you a “pass” on some traffic tickets, especially if it’s your first time, but not on drunken driving, he says. A drunken driving violation will require drivers to purchase auto insurance with an SR22 filing, which can be expensive with larger insurance companies.  Drivers with a DUI violation are advised to consult an insurance agent that specializes in SR22 insurance to find the best rate and coverage. 2. Reckless Driving Estimated premium increase: 15 percent to 20 percent Reckless driving is right up there with drunken driving as one of the biggest offenses that will guarantee a hike in your insurance costs. A precise definition of reckless driving varies from state to state. However, it generally means that you intentionally ignore the safety of other people or property. Violations can bring stiff penalties, including jail time. While speeding certainly may be a factor, you can be reckless without pushing pedal to the metal, according to NHTSA. At least one state, Virginia, is considering categorizing texting while driving as a form of reckless driving. 3. Speeding Estimated premium increase: 10 percent As with repeat drunken driving violations, multiple speeding tickets will bring you increasing insurance costs. Get enough of them, and you can bet your insurance will be canceled, say the experts. Insurers initially may waive one speeding ticket if it’s within 10 mph over the limit, Hunter says. Some states won’t even record the ticket if you take a safe-driving class. But if your insurer doesn’t want to cut you any slack, or you were far over the limit, speeding can raise your car insurance premium by about 10 percent, according to Hunter’s research. Chronic lead-foots also pay higher traffic fines with each ticket — up to $2,000 or more, depending on the state. And some states impose jail time. NHTSA estimates that speeding is involved in more than 30 percent of all fatal crashes — and costs the economy more than $40 billion a year. 4. Running a Red Light Estimated premium increase: 10 percent You break the law when you intentionally go through an intersection after its traffic signal turns red or roll through a right-turn-on-red without stopping.  Expect up to a 10 percent increase for running a red light. If you have a tendency to breeze through red lights, your insurance premiums are probably high already. Red-light runners often have a history of accidents, DUIs, speeding and other violations, according to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety. Drivers who run a red light and cause a deadly accident are more likely to be drunk, speeding or driving without a valid license at the time. In urban areas, the most common type of collision involves drivers ignoring traffic controls, including red lights. The institute says people are hurt in nearly 4 out of 10 of those accidents. 5.  Driving Without a Valid License Estimated premium increase: 10 percent Getting behind the wheel without a valid driver’s license is a serious offense that could mean an extended suspension or even a permanent revocation of your license. A traffic ticket for driving without a license can bring a 10 percent increase in your car insurance premium — on top of whatever rate hikes you’ve already seen for the underlying violations that caused the suspension, Hunter says.  According to the NHTSA, one study in California found tthat drivers with suspended or revoked licenses were involved in fatal crashes nearly four times more often than the average driver.   Information source: www.bankrate.com    

New DUI Laws in South Carolina

A tougher DUI bill that supporters say would save lives recently passed in the South Carolina Senate. The bill requires drivers convicted of a first-offense DUI with a blood alcohol level of .12 or above to install ignition interlocks on their cars. The bill passed by a vote of 41-0 just after 6 o’clock Wednesday evening. The state currently requires the interlocks for drivers upon a second or subsequent DUI. A driver is considered legally drunk with a blood alcohol level of .08, so this bill is targeting what are called “high-BAC” drivers. Ignition interlocks are small devices installed on cars and they require the driver to blow into them before starting the car. If the device detects alcohol of .02 or more, the car won’t start. The interlocks that would be used include a camera, to make sure that the person who is blowing into the device is the driver who’s required to have it. This bill would strengthen the penalties for not installing the interlocks.  Now, a first offense has a fine of $300, jail from 10 to 30 days, or both. Under the bill, a first offense for not having an interlock would be a fine of at least $500, 90 days in jail or six months home detention, and an extension of six months for requiring an ignition interlock. But it’s the repeat offenders who would really be hit hard. Now, a third or subsequent offense for not having a required interlock is a $1,000 fine and jail up to 90 days, or home detention from 90 days to six months. Under the bill, a third or subsequent offense would be a felony, with a fine of at least $5,000, prison up to 10 years or home detention for three years, and extending the required use of an ignition interlock by three years. The offenders would have to pay to install the devices on their vehicles. Ignition interlock manufacturers say they cost about $100 a month, but there’s an additional charge of $30 a month, which will provide interlocks for those drivers who can prove they can’t afford them, despite being able to afford a car, gas and SR-22 insurance.   Source: http://burrisslaw.com

Prescription Drugs Leading to More DUIs in TN

Criminal judges are hearing more cases of people arrested for driving under the influence involving people who took prescription drugs and then drove. In Davidson County presiding Judge Mark Fishburn devotes his entire docket on Fridays to DUI cases.  “When we first started this court, I would say we would have one in 50 drug-based DUIs,” he said. “Now, I think it is closer to one in 15.” Tennessee is one of the nation’s leading states when it comes to the amount of prescription pills prescribed.  As a result of the trend, law enforcement officials see more people operating vehicles under the influence of prescription drugs. Prescription drugs present a unique challenge for the judicial system because there is not a state set legal limit. For alcohol the legal limit is .08.  “With medications, I don’t know where you put the limit,” Judge Fishburn said. Prescription drug DUI cases also require more time to process. “Whenever you have a DUI trial, instead of having a couple of police officers testifying, you will have to bring in the TBI crime lab expert and possibly a doctor,” Judge Fishburn said. “Then you are going to have to have an expert come in at every trial and testify about the effects of that medicine.” Instead of a trial taking a few days, the judge said the trials could stretch into more than a week. He also said it will create a backlog for the TBI crime lab. The lab tests blood samples for Tennessee law enforcement agencies.  Blood tests are required to determine what type of drugs and the amount of drugs in a person’s system when they are arrested. “It will be longer for the case from beginning to end because you have to start drug testing everybody and the TBI crime lab is going to take longer to get the results back,” Judge Fishburn said. “The case is going to be sitting in limbo until those results are back.” Currently, the TBI crime lab has a backlog generated by changes in Tennessee’s implied consent laws. In January, Tennessee enacted no refusal laws that allow law enforcement to obtain a blood sample from a suspected drunk driver without a warrant if the person has a previous DUI conviction or has a child under the age of 16 years old in the vehicle.  The change increased blood sample submissions to the TBI Crime Lab by 50%.  However, the agency was not provided with additional funding to hire lab technicians.  The turn-around time on a blood alcohol content test went from two weeks to up to eight weeks.  The turn-around time for a drug screening went from eight weeks to up to 30 weeks.  The TBI said it is planning to hire more technicians, though it may be months before they are fully trained and working in the crime lab. If convicted of DUI in the state of Tennessee, drivers are required to obtain SR-22 insurance.  The SR-22 is a proof of financial responsibility and can be required for a total of 5 years from the date of your suspension. Have you had a DUI or other driving offense that required anSR 22 insurance filing or are you getting car insurance for the first time? Serenity Insurance can help – we offer car insurance in 47 states for both preferred and high risk drivers. Call us toll free today at 1-800-774-0520 or submit a free quote request online at www.serenitygroup.com.   Source: http://www.wkrn.com/

CA DUI for Minors Under 21

California defines DUI for Minors under 21 as an infraction, even if blood alcohol levels are below 0.08 percent. Any higher BAC levels are subject to misdemeanor penalties. California also has a zero tolerance policy for drinking and driving, and in addition to the penalties outlined below, any level of alcohol intoxication subjects offenders to an automatic suspension of driver’s license for one year. If there were no driver’s license to begin with, the penalties include a postponement in applying for any driving privileges for up to one year. Determining Factors of DUI for Minors under 21: Before any case can be brought to court, there are factors of the crime that will need to be verified. DUI for Minors under 21 CPC 23140 is no different, and these factors include:
  • The driver was intoxicated with alcohol or drugs
  • The driver was a minor under 21
Penalties for California Penal Code 23140 If convicted, the fines and punishments for DUI for minors under 21 include infraction charges:
  • 1st time offenders: $100
  • 2nd time offenders: $200
  • 3rd time offenders: $300
Nevertheless, those with a BAC level of 0.08 percent or more face:
  • Jail: up to 6 months
  • Fines: up to $1000
  • Probation: up to 5 yrs.
  • Suspension of License: up to 6 months
  • DUI school
An SR-22 is required when a driver seeks to reinstate a driver’s license after being convicted of a DUI.  The SR-22 may be required whether you own a vehicle (owner SR-22) or not (non-owner SR-22). The SR-22 is usually required for a number of years – for example, five years following a DUI conviction. If the policy holder fails to pay the premiums, the SR-22 is cancelled and an SR-26 is filed with the DMV. When the DMV receives the SR-26, the policy holder’s license is suspended until a new SR-22 is filed. Contact Serenity Insurance if you require auto insurance with an SR-22.  Serenity Insurance specializes in helping DUI offenders get back on the road with a legal driver’s license.  Call Serenity Insurance at 1-800-774-0520 or visit online for a free CA SR-22 insurance quote.  

CA DUI Education and SR-22 Insurance

Anyone convicted of an alcohol related driving offense in California is required to enroll in a DUI school within 21 days of sentencing.  Successful completion of a DUI alcohol / drug education program is usually imposed as a requirement if you get convicted and placed on probation. The objective of the DUI school is to reduce the number of repeat DUI offenses, as well as give students an opportunity to address any issues that they may have relating to alcohol and/or drug use.  The  California Department of Alcohol and Drug programs provides a complete list of DUI education providers here. Drivers are also required to buy SR-22 insurance in CA in order to release their license from suspension.  The most affordable way to buy this insurance is through a broker like Serenity Insurance who specializes in SR-22 insurance for DUI offenders.  Call Serenity Insurance today to speak with an experienced insurance counselor today: 1-800-774-0520.  You can also submit a free quote request online by visiting www.serenitygroup.comAt Serenity Insurance, we are the SR-22 specialists.

Enhanced CA DUI Penalties for BAC, Refusal, and/or Excessive Speeding

In addition to being charged with DUI, California Prosecutors can pursue other allegations which could substantially increase punishment in a DUI case.  Violators may suffer enhanced penalties in sentencing if the driver’s Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.15 or more, or if the driver refuses to take a chemical test. Drivers could be punished by an additional and consecutive term of 60 days in county jail if speeding by 30+ MPH over the limit on a freeway or 20+ MPH over the limit on any other street and convicted of DUI.  For a first DUI conviction in CA, the court will order drivers to complete an alcohol or drug education counseling program.  Upon completion of the program and after the driver is eligible to release his or her license from suspension, Serenity Insurance can provide SR-22 insurance to get the driver back on the road again. If you are required by the state of CA to purchase SR-22 Insurance, contact Serenity Insurance today at 1-800-774-0520. Agents are standing by to help you find affordable SR-22 insurance. Alternatively, visit Serenity Group Insurance online and submit a free quote request to see how much money you can save.

Drunk drivers in Washington state will be forced to use interlocks with cameras

Convicted drunk drivers in Washington with ignition interlock devices will soon be having their pictures taken while they blow. The Washington State Patrol believes too many drivers are using passengers, including children, to blow into the devices to get the cars started. So starting Jan. 1, all new devices will come with digital cameras. They will snap pictures of who’s blowing into the device so the state patrol can tell for sure who’s using them. Interlocks are required on the vehicles of drivers who have been accused or convicted of impaired driving. The machine requires a legal breath sample from the driver before allowing a car to start. Washington’s law allows those whose drivers’ licenses would normally be suspended to drive legally with an interlock. It was an acknowledgment that those accused or convicted of impaired driving have jobs and family obligations that require a car. In addition to those newly convicted of DUI, drivers who have long term interlock requirements will have to add cameras to their systems. The increased cost for drunk drivers in WA makes purchasing affordable car insurance with an SR-22 even more critical.  People will have less disposable income to spend on car insurance and therefore must be more be more diligent when searching for the lowest SR22 insurance cost. Serenity Insurance specializes in SR 22 insurance and will shop around on the customer’s behalf to provide cheap SR22 insurance in just minutes. Visit www.serenitygroup.com or call 1-800-774-0520 to speak to an insurance counselor and get a free SR22 insurance quote.

Drunk Driving Classifications by State

While “DUI” is the most common classification for drunk driving, not every state uses DUI or driving under the influence when it comes to drunk driving convictions and arrests. The following states use the term DUI: Alabama, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Washington DC, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and Wyoming. Still, DUI is not the only classification for drunk driving in these states.  For example, in Colorado or New York you may also be arrested and charged with DWAI, which stands for driving while ability impaired. DWAI is a lesser charge than DUI, meaning that your blood alcohol concentration was between .05% and .079% at the time of the arrest. The sanctions against one’s driving privilege are also less for a DWAI charge. Not as many states recognize the term DWI, which stands for driving while intoxicated. There are also certain states like Minnesota or New Mexico that only use the term DWI for drunk driving convictions. The states that use DWI are: Arkansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina and Texas. OUI or operating under the influence is a term used in the states of Maine and Rhode Island. OVI or operating a vehicle while impaired is a term used in Ohio. OWI or operating while intoxicated is a term used in Indiana, Iowa and Wisconsin. There are also certain states that will use the term “OMVI” or operating a motor vehicle intoxicated. “OUID” or operating under the influence of drugs is used in some states. “OUIL” or operating under the influence of liquor is also used in a few states. So as you can see just because someone is considered DUI in one state, does not necessarily mean that a person arrested for drunk driving in another state is necessarily facing a DUI charge. Regardless of how your alcohol offense is classified, if you need SR22 or FR44 auto insurance, call Serenity Insurance for a free quote: 1-800-774-0520 or visit www.serenitygroup.com and submit a free quote request today.  Serenity Insurance specializes in providing SR22 insurance for drivers with alcohol offenses and has access to the most affordable rates.  Contact Serenity Insurance today!    

Click to submit an auto insurance quote request today.

Get a Quote

SR22 Insurance in 47 States

Filing form SR22 insurance is our primary business. We operate in a confidential manner to preserve the privacy of our clients in 47 states. More...

DUI/DWI Penalties by State

All 50 states have per se laws defining the crime of driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at or above 0.08 percent. More...

Frequently Asked Questions

What is an SR22 and how do I get it? Please consult our list of SR22 Frequently Asked Questions for guidance. More...

PGlmcmFtZSBzcmM9J2h0dHBzOi8vY2hhdC5zZXJlbml0eWdyb3VwLmNvbTo4NDQzL0VDQ0NoYXQvY2hhdC5odG1sJyB3aWR0aD0nNTAwJyBoZWlnaHQ9JzU1MCcgc2Nyb2xsaW5nPSdubycgc3R5bGU9J292ZXJmbG93LXg6IGhpZGRlbjsgb3ZlcmZsb3cteTogaGlkZGVuOyc+PC9pZnJhbWU+